One of those days…

March 27, 2013 § 2 Comments

20130327-225533.jpg

Today was one of those days. You know, the type where you can’t wait for them to be over??

Nathaniel was sick with a bad cold virus this morning and didn’t wake up until 8am. I call him my human alarm clock because I never have to set my phone to wake up. I am typically greeted around 0600 with, “Mama, Nathaniel wake up! And then manzi [water] please??” This unusual behavior of sleeping in then made me late in getting out the door because I woke up late also. I also needed to get a sick, tired, cranky Nathaniel settled before leaving.

Then this afternoon I broke down in tears at our office over the realization that the Menenbergs will soon be leaving Zambia.

It devastates me to think about and I could not stop crying for the rest of the day. I may have been slightly hormonal as well but that’s beside the point.

I was called by Nathaniel’s nanny to say that there was no power units at home. Of course this happened just before dinner time. I stopped at one store and the power meter machine wasn’t working. On to the next store where I finally got the units.

When dinner was made, Nathaniel refused to come. He has developed quite a will of independence. He will often raise his voice in disagreement. There is no doubt of the strength of his opinions. This continued on and made for a pleasant evening. Ahem.

My body was hurting today as well with a raging headache and an angry uterus. I was glad for my child’s bed time and a candlelit bath alone.

Ben arrives back from Luapula province tomorrow and I will be thankful to no longer be a World Vision widow after 11 LONG days.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to One of those days…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading One of those days… at Laura Menenberg.

meta

