Mama’s First Day of School!

August 27, 2012 § 4 Comments

Today is my first day of graduate school! I am now in the Masters of Science in Nursing program to become a Certified Nurse-Midwife. I’m a bit excited (and nervous!) but am ready for the challenge. It’s a completely online distance program. I’ll start the program remotely in Lusaka and then my clinicals (practicum) will be done in Seattle under Nurse-Midwives. If all goes according to plan, I’ll graduate Summer of 2014!

The road to being a midwife has been long. I was born at home in 1985 with FraNa Ready as my Mama’s midwife. All my growing up years, I would hear the story of my birth and I just thought home birth and midwives were the norm. I remember being 14 years old and checking out pregnancy, labor, and birth books from our local library. I even created a business plan in Sue (Anderson) Robert’s high school class for my future home birth practice as a midwife (Thanks for that, Mrs. Anderson!).

Throughout college, I had worked at a few different ICU’s as a nursing assistant. When I graduated nursing school, I got my first job working in a pediatric ICU. It was hard work and rewarding at times but I just wasn’t that passionate about it. Through my work as a birth doula and delivering babies in rural Malawi I rediscovered my desire to work with pregnant women and help them give birth.

It probably seems a little crazy to adopt a child and then go to graduate school but I believe I can do nothing else. My time here in Africa has shown me the need that exists for well-trained midwives and how I must steward my gifts and abilities.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Mama’s First Day of School!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mama’s First Day of School! at Laura Menenberg.

meta

