{Post by the Husband} The ZICA Papers

June 28, 2012 § 2 Comments

A couple of months ago, I had quite the surprise when I received an email from the Zambian Institute of Chartered Accountants (ZICA) notifying me that I had to sit for two exams by the end of June or else face an early exit from Zambia.  Apparently, my work permit was granted based on my provisional membership to ZICA, a membership which expired in a year unless I passed the Law and Tax papers required of foreign members.  Thus, failure to sit for and pass these exams by the end of June will result in an early exit from Zambia (August rather than October).  Just a bit of pressure!!

Thankfully, I had two months to prepare and thus dug right into my studies.  This was on top of my Hebrew Prophets class, as well as the rest of our responsibilities in Zambia.  The past couple of months have been difficult, but thankfully I sat for both papers last week and am pleased with my performance.  Of course, I won’t rejoice completely until I learn that I have passed.

My tax paper was an especially fun adventure – before taking the test, I had an nshima lunch followed by a ride on the minibus to the exam hall.  Now there can be no doubt that I am truly Zambian!

ZICA nshima lunch

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to {Post by the Husband} The ZICA Papers

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading {Post by the Husband} The ZICA Papers at Laura Menenberg.

meta

