Baby Surprise Jacket

December 20, 2011 § 7 Comments

In the last few months, I’ve kept my knitting needles busy. I tend to knit like I read books…in multiples! I recently realized that it part boredom and part desire to see progress. Although I’ve finished a few projects in between, the others are secrets! We are in the holiday season, you know!

In progress

Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Baby Surprise Jacket was a great project to have for our first couple months in Zambia. It gave me something to do for those long, quiet (well, we were at the Showell’s house so maybe not so quiet) days of waiting for life to get started here in Africa. I used Cascade Pacific yarn and knit picks #8 needles on a 29″ cord. The pattern is available by mail or most likely at your local knitting store. Not online. Yet.

In progress

The classic shot

The sweater is knit in one piece and then is folded into itself to become the sweater. I used the knit wiki for help as well as the aid of a more experienced knitting friend (thanks, Brittany!). It took quite a few rounds (and by rounds, I mean me ripping out my work and starting over) in order to figure out what the heck I was doing. It was the first pattern that I used that didn’t lay out line-by-line instructions and so it was definitely a “learning” period for my knitting skills. Also, I love how the stripes turned out – it’s the same as here.

Finished product

Here it is sewn up, blocked, and displayed in all its glory!

Tagged: , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Baby Surprise Jacket

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Baby Surprise Jacket at Laura Menenberg.

meta

