Knits and Purls

August 2, 2011 § 5 Comments

After “the sweater” (see HERE), I determined to work on my knitting skills. I’m glad I finished it but it showed that some formal education would be good for me. The gauge wasn’t done properly (um, I didn’t know what “gauge” was) and I needed to work on shaping.

Issaquah, WA

I recently took at class at our local knitting store, “Cultured Purls” (you can visit their site HERE). Because I’m a mostly self-taught knitter (youtube and knittinghelp.com are great resources), I decided to take the beginning knitter’s course to instill a good foundation upon which to build. The ladies here are fabulous. Even though I already knew many of the basic stitches, I learned a lot from having a person’s brain to pick.  Everyone in the store is also very helpful in picking out projects, yarn, and material. Here’s one finished project:

Rasta Hat

The pattern is a rasta hat available from ravelry (available HERE). I did it in some chunky acrylic yarn leftover in my knitting bag (no idea what the color is) on #13 needles. I also bought my first pair of knit picks needles! I learned about magic loop knitting (see HERE) and bought a 40″ cable with interchangeable needles. I think my knitting life has changed for the better. 🙂

Rasta hat back view

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Knits and Purls

  • missc247 says:

    Wow I love it, thanks for your links, I’m a Granny taught knitter, sadly she is no longer around. I will follow your link to learn how to cable! Thanks!

  • lmenen says:

    Thanks! Happy knitting! 🙂

  • […] Knits and Purls (lauramenenberg.wordpress.com) […]

  • […] Knits and Purls (lauramenenberg.wordpress.com) Advertisement LD_AddCustomAttr("AdOpt", "0"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Origin", "other"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_bg", "ffffff"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_text", "4f402a"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_link", "97c000"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_border", "503f2b"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_url", "346ba4"); LD_AddCustomAttr("LangId", "1"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Autotag", "books"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Autotag", "family"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Autotag", "entertainment"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "life"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "craft"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "crafts"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "knitting"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "knitting-and-crochet"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "pattern"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "yarn"); LD_AddSlot("wpcom_below_post"); LD_GetBids(); Share this:FacebookTwitterEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post.   Leave a Comment […]

  • […] Knits and Purls (lauramenenberg.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Knits and Purls at Laura Menenberg.

meta

