Book Review “What Your Pediatrician Doesn’t Know Can Hurt Your Child”

August 1, 2011 § Leave a comment

I have been immersing myself in some interesting literature recently (more book reviews to come!). A favorite blog of mine (http://wonderfullymadebelliesandbabies.blogspot.com) recently had a giveaway for an interesting book entitled, “What Your Pediatrician Doesn’t Know Can Hurt Your Child” (available on Amazon hardcopy or on your kindle app):

As a pediatric nurse, birth doula, and future parent, my curiosity was piqued. I didn’t win the giveaway but when it was on sale for $2.99, I jumped at the chance to read it. It is very much from a “natural” attachment parenting philosophy, some of which I agree with and some of which I do not. My philosophy in life is “everything with moderation” and thus some of the extreme nature of the comments were over the top, in my opinion. The authors are strong advocates of breastfeeding (to the point of using scare tactics about formula of all kinds), vegetarian/vegan diets, and the importance of bonding through baby wearing.

The part that has stuck with me the most is their insistence on how bad it is to eat dairy and meat. At first, I was seriously considering what they said. Some of their arguments were convincing, especially on how “unnatural” it is to drink another species milk. But then I was considering all of the dietary laws of the Old Testament…if God said something was OK to eat, that’s good enough for me!

Overall, it is a good perspective on natural alternatives to the generally accepted philosophies among parents. When our time comes, I plan to parent “more naturally” although not in the extreme sense. Because of the strong nature of its opinions, I would be selective in who I recommend it to!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Book Review “What Your Pediatrician Doesn’t Know Can Hurt Your Child” at Laura Menenberg.

meta

