What I’ve been up to…

March 9, 2011 § 1 Comment

 

This last two weeks, I feel like I’ve had my life just put into proper perspective.   Two weeks ago, during my last stretch off, I took time to go to my parent’s lake house in Chelan.  It was just me and Jesus.  I had read about people doing these retreats into the mountains but had never attempted it myself.  Honestly, it was hard at first.  I had just come off of a long stretch of work and I was tired.  The first night (and day) I slept 18 hours (!) and was on a funky schedule.  Such is the life of a night shifter (see here for more on that).  I tried to pray and read and study my Bible like I’d planned but it was very difficult.  I felt like all I wanted to do was sleep. The third day, I got up and made it on a walk to my favorite place – a rock outcropping showing a 180 degree view of lake (see here). It was such a sweet time with the Lord!  I remember my college freshmen health teacher (who had absolutely no claim on a personal religion) talking about how spiritual it is being in the mountains. When you’re there, breathing the fresh mountain air, soaking up the sun, and taking in the beauty of creation, how can you not say that it is a spiritual experience?? In fact, scripture talks about how the mountains are an example to us of God’s righteousness and declare His glory. I didn’t have a specific word that God spoke to me but I knew that I was WITH Him. I reflected on the Gospel. I felt renewed spiritually. It was the same feeling I get when I get away for a weekend with Ben – we may not talk about anything specific but we leave that time feeling close to each other and renewed in our love for one another.  Obviously, God doesn’t need this but I sure do.

Quiet Time

I then headed to Portland, OR to spend time with the lovely Casey Tait.  We had a lovely time together!  We talked our hearts out, shopped, studied/worked and drank good coffee in one of Portland’s premier coffee shops.  I was so thankful for good friends to share life with.

 

Good Coffee

I’m now back to “normal” life – work, laundry, dishes, cooking, etc. But my heart is happy, peaceful, and content.  I’m so very thankful for this time of reprieve and refreshing.

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to What I’ve been up to…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What I’ve been up to… at Laura Menenberg.

meta

