Recent Reads: Lady’s Hands, Lion’s Heart and Baby Catcher

February 18, 2011 § 2 Comments

It’s the weekend and I thought I’d share a few of my recent reads with you. I recently got an iPod Touch (for free – thanks, Keybank!) and have been loving the Kindle app. As most of you know by now, I work nights half of the time and so often this leads to laying in bed but not able to sleep. The iPod is great because I can read without waking up my sleeping husband. Yes, I know it’s a backlit screen and too small…yada, yada, yada. I don’t care. I like it.

 

The following two books are childbirth/doula/midwifery oriented. I have two doula clients due in the next 6 weeks so perhaps I am getting my mental gear in motion.

*** Average

The first book I read was Lady’s Hands, Lion’s Heart by Carol Leonard.  It was an interesting read about an apprentice-trained lay midwife on the east coast in the 1970s and 1980s. It had some suspense and good chuckles. It does have some strong language at points and the author is quite prolific in talking about her New Age spiritual beliefs. It wasn’t a book I’d necessarily pick up again but it wasn’t something I wanted to leave unfinished either. My rating (from 1-5 stars) is 3 stars or average.

 

4.5 **** Almost Excellent

I read Baby Catcher by Peggy Vincent next. This is a story of a Labor and Delivery RN who became a Certified Nurse-Midwife in the 1970s and 1980s. Now, this was a book I COULDN’T put down. I read this on paper (you know, the old fashioned way?) and I was glad I did because I nearly finished it during the 4 nights I worked last week (when it’s slow we’re allowed to read). Wow…Peggy is an excellent writer who had me giggling out loud at points then cringing in anticipation of the next twist of her very real stories. It was amazing reading about her journey to midwifery, helping women and their partners in all walks of life, and the sacrifices she and her family gave so that she could live out her calling as a midwife. It also has some unnecessary language (thus the 0.5 point dock) but could be appropriate for a mature teen interested in being a midwife. I know I would’ve loved to read it as a teen!

 

What are your recent reads??

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Recent Reads: Lady’s Hands, Lion’s Heart and Baby Catcher

  • Amy says:

    Great book suggestions! I haven’t read either, but being almost 23 weeks pregnant I’m gathering as much information as possible at this point. A book recommended to me by my doula is: “Birthing from Within”. If you haven’t heard of it before, you should check it out! 🙂

  • lmenen says:

    Glad you enjoy the post, Amy! I have heard of the book but have never checked it out. Thanks for the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Recent Reads: Lady’s Hands, Lion’s Heart and Baby Catcher at Laura Menenberg.

meta

