Fitness at Home

January 19, 2011 § Leave a comment

I don’t believe in New Years resolutions. In fact, I dislike them so much I made it a point to make some lifestyle changes in December just to prove a point (to whom, I’m not really sure…). However, the point of this is to say that my interest in working out or sharing ideas with you all is not a part of my resolution for the new year. I just want to be healthy and to look and feel good and I’ve found something that works for me. There. I feel better now that I cleared that up.

 

Working out at home - the early days

 

Unlike many American families, we refuse to have cable. It’s more related to cost and a lack of desire to sit in front of the TV (affectionately known as the Idol box in our house, since so many Americans worship their TVs). However, we love our Netflix account! $10 versus $30 (or more!) a month?? Yes, please! Most movies we want are available via DVD plus we get unlimited instant watching. This leads me to my whole point of writing this post. On our instant browsing, I found some excellent fitness videos of pilates and dance workouts. I’ve been doing pilates at home for the past month and enjoying it immensely. In fact, I got practice as a young lass as I exercised with my mom to Buns of Steel (and other infamous titles).

I found that I’m much more motivated to workout when I don’t have to travel in the rain to the gym, I don’t have to worry about waiting for a machine, and I’m getting a much more effective workout. If I honest, I don’t make myself work that hard on a treadmill or elliptical. However, having a TV personality encourage me to work hard at a squat or crunch? I’m totally into it! Not to mention, the cost of $10 a month for unlimited classes? Score!

What’s your go-to workout routine?

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fitness at Home at Laura Menenberg.

meta

