Bread Making

November 11, 2010 § Leave a comment

In the midst of my insomnia last week (see this post for more details), I decided to make bread in my borrowed (thanks, Mom!) bread maker. It was something I’d been wanting to try for a while. I just used the basic bread maker recipe for a small loaf of white bread. It turned out really well and I’m excited to try out another recipe sometime!

 

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup cool water (I used our refrigerator Brita water)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1 tsp yeast
  • 1 tbsp milk
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 2 cups bread flour (I used plain baking flour)
  • 1 teaspoon salt

My recipe didn’t say any order of the ingredients so I just threw everything in together and started the machine and everything turned out great

I decided not to use this…notice the expiration was February 19, 1998. Apparently, my parents hadn’t had a big need for yeast in the last 12 years.

After I awoke the next afternoon, I found my bread loaf nicely formed and wonderfully delicious. It was the perfect companion for my soup dinner at work. Yum!

*It was a bit consternating to remove this item from it’s pan…next time, I will try to do it when it is hot*

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bread Making at Laura Menenberg.

meta

