Under the Weather

September 8, 2010 § 3 Comments

I haven’t been feeling well the past 5 days…fever, fatigue, headache, sore throat, general malaise, and gastrointestinal symptoms. It’s likely a reoccurrence of mononucleosis – an infection that I had 4 years ago. It’s hard being sick as an ICU nurse because I am constantly over assessing my symptoms.

  • I was dehydrated and had darker urine and my immediate thought was, “Oh my gosh…I have liver failure.” Then I realized, I was just dehydrated and I drank more water and the symptom resolved. Although I did have my mom check the whites of my eyes to check for yellowing JUST IN CASE! I also made sure she knew to take me to the ER should I have a decreased level of consciousness from the high ammonia levels from my presumed liver failure.
  • I spiked a fever of 101.4 F (38.5 C), I could only think about the blood cultures I should be getting for possible septicemia.
  • My throat was (and still is) quite swollen (lymphadenopathy) and I kept imagining needing to be intubated

My mom has been taking care of me while my husband is working. She is a wonderful nurse and I am very thankful for her! She even found me some natural alternative medicines for mono (monolauren, apple cider vinegar, vitamin C, and Echinacea) I find myself needing to be distracted from with good movies and TV shows, knitting, email, laughing, and good conversation. Luckily, my mama is the perfect companion for all of these activities! 🙂

I will be posting more as I feel up to it, resting lots, and hydrating exceedingly!

§ 3 Responses to Under the Weather

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Under the Weather at Laura Menenberg.

meta

