{The Husband Writes} The Jar is Half Full

August 19, 2011 § 2 Comments

Here is a guest blog from my husband, Ben. I thoroughly enjoyed this little piece he wrote and found myself relating to these feelings. I hope you enjoy it too!

 
If I’m not careful, I will find almost any excuse to complain.  Here are some common complaints:
- I didn’t get enough sleep
- I didn’t relax on vacation
- I didn’t get enough time alone with my wife
- I don’t like a certain part of my job
- I can’t believe how bad our government is
- my wife isn’t doing something the way I want
- etc, etc, etc

One of my favorite truths to proclaim is that we are sinful people who live in a sinful world.  And based upon that truth, I pout and focus on how sinful things are and how terrible things have become.  However, I am realizing that I often miss the point.  Like a camera that is out of focus, I fail to capture the beautiful landscape that is before me because I am fixated on a single distraction in the periphery of my picture.

I frequently ask myself: why has everything gone so wrong?  A better question to ask: why should anything go right?

If I take my thoughts about sin, in isolation, to their logical conclusion, I will find many fantastic reasons to be depressed.  But if I take my thoughts of sin to the cross and remember what Jesus did about MY sins, I find myself speechless with gratitude and wonder.  I am forgiven!  I am free from sin and empowered to live by the Holy Spirit living inside of me.  Starting from that point, I can see countless examples of God’s grace in my life – beautiful relationships He has given me, wonderful memories to cherish, the privilege of being used by Him to shine His light wherever I go.

Lord, help me to be thankful.  You deserve so much gratitude for all that you have done for me – help me to honor you by living a life filled with thanksgiving and praise to your Holy Name.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to {The Husband Writes} The Jar is Half Full

  • Kyle Ryan says:

    Ben, your words are filled with wisdom and truth. They are a timely reminder that the work Jesus did on the Cross for ME is so much bigger than myself! I have been overwhelmed by God’s grace and blessing in my life, and, while he’s abundantly blessing me far more than I could imagine, starting from a place of gratitude for the Cross and redemption of my sin allows for all the more enjoyment of the earthly blessings. If you don’t mind, I’m going to share this in my CG tonight!

  • lmenen says:

    I can speak for Ben and know he would be happy that you shared this with your community group. Glad you enjoyed this piece!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading {The Husband Writes} The Jar is Half Full at Laura Menenberg.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,209 other followers

